SearchAssistant.net
Nothing is known about searchassistant.net except that it is a new site still under construction and is owned by Odysseus Marketing. Beware of this site or any programs related to this site. As yet, we have had no reports about this site but I've given them a page on this site because I suspect we'll be hearing about them soon.
Registrant:
Odysseus Marketing, Inc.
8721 Santa Monica Blvd
#409
Los Angeles, CA 90069-4507
US
Domain Name: SEARCHASSISTANT.NET
Administrative Contact:
Jones, Ed hostmaster@odysseusmarketing.com
Odysseus Marketing, Inc.
8721 Santa Monica Blvd
#409
Los Angeles, CA 90069-4507
US
213-947-1271
Record expires on 01-May-2006.
Record created on 29-Sep-2003.
Database last updated on 12-Jan-2004 21:59:36 EST.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.SERVINT.COM 209.50.225.13
NS2.SERVINT.COM 209.50.225.12
NS01.BACKUPDNS.COM 199.242.242.199
UPDATE: Well, looks like searchassistant didn't take long to rear it's ugly head. Apparently, it's being listed as a trojan named GHosts-1. Here is what my research has turned up:
http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/trojan.qhosts.html
http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_100719.htm
http://www.netrn.net/archives2/000291.html
http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/?id=description&virus_k=100719
And so the list goes on.
For more informative research and
information on this company, please visit
http://www.webhelper4u.com/CWS/defaulthomepagenetwork/passthisonftpexploit.html
and the accompanying links at the bottom of the page.
This website will be updated regularly with any new developments. Anyone wishing to contact me for inquiries or to relate their experiences may do so at nomorespyware@yahoo.com.